One Small Sacrifice by Hilary Davidson

One Small Sacrifice by Hilary DavidsonAn apparent suicide. A mysterious disappearance. Did one man get away with murder—twice?

NYPD detective Sheryn Sterling has had her eye on Alex Traynor ever since his friend Cori fell to her death under suspicious circumstances a year ago. Cori’s death was ruled a suicide, but Sheryn thinks Alex—a wartime photojournalist suffering from PTSD—got away with murder.

When Alex’s fiancée, Emily, a talented and beloved local doctor, suddenly goes missing, Sheryn suspects that Alex is again at the center of a sticky case. Sheryn dislikes loose ends, and Cori’s death had way too many of them.

But as Sheryn starts pulling at the threads in this web, her whole theory unravels. Everyone involved remembers the night Cori died differently—and the truth about her death could be the key to solving Emily’s disappearance.

To Be to Is to Was by Stephen C. Bird

To Be to Is to Was by Stephen C. BirdSunnie Deelite and Isabella Gloucester forge their creative identities while fending off the torments of unrequited love. Disillusioned, they say goodbye to Fascibook and polarized Isolamicka and travel to Planet Gorp, where they study synesthesia and meditate with Bastet the Egyptian Cat Goddess. In the Androgynous Galaxy, four intergalactic witches battle for supremacy while back on the Blue Green Planet, Turmerico Inflammatorio wreaks havoc as the leader of turbulent Isolamicka.

Short stories featuring a mix of genres. Alternates between stream of consciousness, linear and non-linear prose. This work incorporates dialogue, monologue, inner monologue, satirical poetry and devices of blatant satire. The text moves back and forth between realism, surrealism and dream-like scenarios. Characters morph in and out of absurd, fantastical and over-the-top situations. Specific themes, concepts and idea fragments are interwoven throughout its chapters. While at first glance not appearing to be linked, ultimately these short stories meld together, lending an informal sense of unity to this book.

Please refer to the Blog Posting on the Stephen C. Bird Author Profile Page for Reviews and Quotes from Goodreads Reviews for "To Be to Is to Was".

Hohenstaufen by Daniel R. Hopkins

Hohenstaufen by Daniel R. HopkinsA modern boy in the medieval times, bewitched by a fallen angel into becoming King of Jerusalem, and unknowingly the key to unlock a great prophesied evil. This dark, time-twisting journey will possess readers of all ages!
***
Arjen Staufen is sixteen when he drowns on a crabber boat in the Bering Sea. Instead of going to heaven or hell, he wakes up on the other side of the world -- almost eight hundred years back in time.

It's the Holy Land, AD 1277. The Crusader knights are making their last stand. The unclaimed throne of Jerusalem is their only hope. But things get complicated when a dangerous girl only Arjen can see or hear deliberately corrupts history by putting him on this throne. Arjen's mission to discover who he is and why he's here quickly becomes one of survival as his reign places the fate of the whole world in his sinful hands.

Caught in a dark love triangle between a kind-hearted nun and a demoness from hell, Arjen must choose between his destiny and his soul -- even if he's already lost both.

Law and Addiction by Mike Papantonio

Law and Addiction by Mike PapantonioEnter to win one of 25 autographed copies of legal expert Mike Papantonio’s gripping new novel, LAW AND ADDICTION, based on the author’s own experiences battling Big Pharma on behalf of hundreds of municipalities devastated by the opioid epidemic.

Already stirring controversy for its behind-the-scenes look at the opioid crisis, LAW AND ADDICTION will be featured in a public television special airing soon. You can be one of the first people to read and review this spellbinding novel which is Papantonio’s most explosive book to date.

When newly minted lawyer Jake Rutledge returns home to West Virginia, he discovers that not only has his brother died of a drug overdose, but the entire region has been turned into a vast opioid-induced zombieland. Determined to seek justice from the pharmaceutical companies that purposely created this drug epidemic, Jake joins forces with “Deke” Deketomis in a heroic struggle against Big Pharma, corrupt county officials, and their deadly co-conspirators.

MIke Papantonio wrote LAW AND ADDICTION to give readers a front-row account of America's opioid epidemic by creating a legal thriller filled with real-life characters fighting against injustice and corporate greed.

LAW AND ADDICTION is riveting. Once you start, you will not be able to put it down until the very last word.

You can learn more about master story-teller Mike Papantonio and all three of his novels at www.mikepapantonio.com.

Valencia and Valentine by Suzy Krause

Valencia and Valentine by Suzy KrauseFor readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, debut author Suzy Krause delivers a quirky, colorful story about love, loss, second chances, and what it means to truly live.

Valencia, a timid debt collector with crippling OCD, is afraid of many things, but the two that scare her most are flying and turning thirty-five. To confront those fears, Valencia’s therapist suggests that she fly somewhere—anywhere—before her upcoming birthday. And as Valencia begins a telephone romance with a man from New York, she suddenly has a destination in mind. There’s only one problem—he might not actually exist.

Mrs. Valentine is an eccentric old woman desperate for company, be it from neighbors, telemarketers, or even the funeral director (when you’re her age, you go to a lot of funerals). So she’s thrilled when the new cleaning girl provides a listening ear for her life’s story—a tale of storybook love and incredible adventures around the world with her husband before his mysterious and sudden disappearance.

The stories of Valencia and Mrs. Valentine may at first appear to have nothing in common…but then again, nothing in life is as straightforward as it seems.

The Elven Queen by Bernhard Hennen

The Elven Queen by Bernhard HennenThe battle for sovereignty over the realms reaches a devastating turning point as the international bestselling fantasy series continues.

All that stands between the advancing army of trolls and the endangered fortress of Phylangan is a coalition force led by Alfadas, human hero and protector. He’s amassed his own legion of swordsmen, elves, and ragtag thieves to stave off the enemy. And the next move they make could be the most dangerous one of all.

Those Alfadas has left behind are more vulnerable than ever—including his star-crossed elven love; their newborn child; and Queen Emerelle herself, who remains comatose and is powerless to safeguard her compromised kingdom.

But as Alfadas risks all in the violent campaign of the realms, the fate of Phylangan trembles ever more as the enemy advances. However tenuous Alfadas’s victory is, what he fears most is what will be left of the homeland he abandoned…

Girl, Stop Apologizing by Rachel Hollis

Girl, Stop Apologizing by Rachel HollisEnter for a chance to win one of 25 copies of the #1 New York Times bestseller, Girl, Stop Apologizing from Rachel Hollis.

Rachel Hollis has seen it too often: women being afraid of their own goals. They’re afraid of embarrassment, of falling short of perfection, of not being enough. But the biggest fear of all is of being judged for having ambition at all.

Having been taught to define themselves in light of other people—whether as wife, mother, daughter, friend, or team member—many women have forgotten who they are and what they were meant to be. In Girl, Stop Apologizing, entrepreneur and online personality (TheChicSite.com) Rachel Hollis encourages women to own their hopes, desires, and goals and reminds them they don’t need permission to want more. With a call to women everywhere to stop talking themselves out of their dreams, Hollis identifies the excuses to let go of, the behaviors to adopt, and the skills to acquire on the path to growth, confidence, and the biggest possible version of their lives.